Let Us Continue to be Merciful in Our Indian Way …

Dialogue between “Christian Mercy” and “Daya” in Patanjali Yoga
Astikya ( Faith )
Having an unflinching trust in the merciful God, who is both transcendent and imminent, in the saving acts of history.
Ishwara Pranidhan ( Surrender to God )
Feeling oneself to be the servant of the merciful God and acting in that capacity in our historical circumstances where mercy is challenged.
Svadhyaya ( Study of Scripture)
Daily reading of the Sacred Scripture which reveals the merciful face of God and, revealing that face, in our contemplative actions.
Japa ( Recitation)
Chanting mantras and prayers, personally as well as in our communities, to be in the presence of oneself with the Divine and the entire universe.
Vrata ( Sacred Vows)
Faithfully following the sacred observances of Poverty, Chastity and Obedience to foster mercy to oneself and to one’s own neighbours.
Brahmacharya ( Divine Conduct)
Celibacy outside marriage and being faithful in marriage.
Daya ( Compassion)
Overcoming insensitivity to others and being empathetic towards the least, last and the lost of society.
Ahimsa ( Non violence)
Non Injury to others in thoughts, words and deeds.
Dhriti ( Steadfastness)
Overcoming fear and to persevere, even in difficult and merciless circumstances, where our mission is challenged.
Hri ( Remorse)
Experiencing a healthy shame for misdeeds against mercy, love and service.
Mati ( Cognition)
Developing the Spiritual intellect through the Guru’s guidance and spiritual direction.
Satya( Truth)
Refraining from lying, manipulating, heresy and merciless rationalism.
Ananda ( Contentment)
Being satisfied with that which is available without severe endeavour and without deprivation of others of something.
Asteya ( Non stealing )
Refraining from theft, prolonged debt and plagiarism.
Arjavam ( Honesty)
Freedom from mental duplicity, partiality, favouritism, regionalism and prejudices emerging from our social, religious and cultural conditioning.
Dana ( Giving)
Merciful acts of charity without thought of reward.
Mitahara ( Moderate Appetite)
Regulating necessary and moderate diet and the avoidance of wasting food.
Kshama ( Patience)
Restraining onself from intolerance with people and circumstances.
Saucam ( Cleanliness)
Purity of body, mind, speech as well as the environment.

G. Martin Kumar

[Martin is a II nd year student of theology at JDV]